Holy week, and then some

Bidding a fond farewell to the Cobbled Classics

Hey folks, hope you’re all well and the seasonal changes are bringing some joy to you wherever you are in the world. Many changes are afoot in the world of cycling, both for me on a personal level, as I launch my new-look website, and in the season, as we bid farewell to the Cobbled Classics and pitch headlong into the Ardennes for the next phase, with Grand Tour season on the horizon too, edging ever closer.

First up – let’s talk writebikerepeat.com. I relaunched the site earlier this week and I have big plans. Plenty of content, from interviews to previews, race reports to opinion pieces, fiction and special interest articles, listicles and fan photography and poems and collaborative pieces and untold stories from the world of cycling. Brought to you by independent writers and content creators and completely free to read. There will be paid subscription options for those of who would like to support myself and the other contributors and in return, I’m busy building a package of benefits including discounts to relevant brands – I hope you’ll consider joining as a free member to see what it’s all about, and if you like what you see, upgrading to a paid membership to ensure I can continue to bring you this level of content for the foreseeable future. It’s what I love to do, simply put, and with support, I can do even more.

Let’s move onto the new format for these newsletters. I’ll continue to send them out fortnightly as usual, but instead of longer race reports contained within the body of the newsletter, I’ll be linking back to my site where you’ll find the full details of all the racing – hopefully that will keep these letters a bit more concise, and give you the option to read the pieces that interest you the most. All good? Hope so. Off we go then!

RACING RECAP

We have had EVERYTHING since I last spoke to you – two Monuments, cobbled classics, week-long stage races, a race from Paris to some cheese – it’s been a packed couple of weeks, and as part of the new format of this newsletter I’m saving space in your inbox by posting the gory details from ALL THE RACES over at the site – so if you want to read about everything that’s happened over the past two weeks, read the post below.

What I’ll do here instead is a fast reminder of which races you shouldn’t miss, which ones you can give a miss, and one or two hints over standout performances that caught the eye.

DON’T MISS – we’ve been spoiled this fortnight, but to be fair, there’s only one Holy Week – if you haven’t seen both editions of the Tour of Flanders or Paris-Roubaix it goes without saying that you should watch them, and read my reflection on them in the below pieces.

Outside of the obvious, the races worth catching up on include De Brabantse Pijl (both are fun but the women’s is particularly exciting), Itzulia Basque Country stage 3, and the underdog entry of the fortnight, the Classic Grand Besançon Doubs.

UNDERWHELMING – I am not one to bring negative energy, so look upon this as a suggestion of where you can save time – turning a negative into a positive. Although the first three stages of Itzulia Basque Country were quite exciting, the latter half fell a bit flat, with GC wrapped up fairly quickly. It wasn’t a vintage edition.

STARS OF THE FORTNIGHT – they are all stars in my eyes. But if I was pressed, the riders who’ve impressed me the most over the past two weeks, for heroics, victories or simply just being their best selves are: Silvia Persico (sheer grinta), Alison Jackson (dreams really do come true), Dorian Godon (for the win, and the understated vibes), Lenny Martinez (a future star on the rise, for his fearless attacking), and Jasper Philipsen (for just bossing basically everything). Read the Racing Recap to find out more, and check out the below articles to read in-depth reflections of the Monuments.

 FINAL THOUGHT: INTO THE ARDENNES

So that brings us bang up to date and we head from the cobbles of Belgium and northern France to the hills of the Ardennes, and the racing changes in texture and style and general aesthetic. Where the cobbled classics feel claustrophobic, grim and labyrinthine in nature, like a cauldron of simmering tension leading to a volcanic eruption of action, the Ardennes classics are airy, open and expressive, with longer climbs and generally better weather, with a different flavour of rider in favour, as the climbing legs are tested. It’s a change that feels right for the time of year, a shift in season quite literally, brief and fleeting as the European spring can sometimes be, before we head to Italy to begin the first of the Grand Tours in just three weeks’ time (can you believe it? No, me neither).

With Tadej Pogacar back from his incredibly short break, and Remco Evenepoel returning for the classics that suit him best, we could be on for some special racing and close battles. I’ll of course be looking back on how it all unfolded when I arrive in your inboxes in two weeks’ time.

First up this weekend is Amstel Gold Race which, last year, was ALMOST won by AG2R Citroen’s Benoit Cosnefroy. I spoke to him yesterday for Rouleur, to reflect on the photo finish agony and find out how he’s feeling ahead of this year’s race.

THE LAST WORD

I’m working hard on things behind the scenes, writing lots of new stuff for the site, so make sure you sign up to receive new things when they drop – in the latest post a bunch of writers argue over which cobbled classic was the best – and I adjudicate – badly. Not to be missed!

Until next time, I can’t leave you without rolling out the best (or worst depending on your perspective) pun I’ve ever come up with to summon the next phase of racing: come and have a go if you think you’re Ardenne-nough.

If you’re still with me after that one, I know I’ve found my people. If you’re so inclined, do sign up to the website, if not but you’d like to show your support in a caffeine-based display of affection, head to my ko-fi page.

Big love,

Katy